Interlink Express Midland Alliance

Founded: 1994

The formation of the Midland Alliance rationalised the pyramid in the West Midlands below the Southern League, then known as the Beazer Homes League. It brought together leading clubs from the West Midlands (Regional) League and the Midland Football Combination which until then fed directly into the Beazer Homes League but thereafter became feeder leagues to the new competition. Selection of the founder members was based mainly on ground facilities with each league providing ten clubs. In 1996-97 the Leicestershire Senior League formally joined the Pyramid as a feeder to the Midland Alliance although as yet there has been no promotion to or from this league until clubs in that league can meet the necessary ground grading.

Founder Members

From West Midland (Regional) League Brierley Hill Town, Chasetown, Halesowen Harriers, Hinckley Athletic, Knypersley Victoria, Oldbury Town, Paget Rangers, Rocester, Rushall Olympic (replaced Ilkeston Town who were elected to the Beazer Homes League), Willenhall Town
From Midland Football Combination Barwell, Boldmere St. Michaels, Bolehall Swifts, Pershore Town '88, Sandwell Borough, Shepshed Dynamo, Shifnal Town, Stapenhill, Stratford Town and West Midlands Police

Area Covered

The Midland Alliance covers the West Midlands and extends into South Staffordshire, Gloucestershire and Leicestershire.


1 division, 20 clubs.

Promotion: 1 club to the Dr Martens League (subject to meeting the League's entry criteria)

Relegation: 3 clubs to feeder leagues: Bank's Brewery West Midlands (Regional) League, Endsleigh Midland Football Combination and Everards Brewery Leicestershire Senior League.

Composition 1998-99

Barwell, Boldmere St. Michaels, Bridgnorth Town, Chasetown, Halesowen Harriers, Kings Norton Town, Knypersley Victoria, Oldbury United, Pelsall Villa, Pershore Town, Rocester, Rushall Olympic, Sandwell Borough, Shifnal Town, Stapenhill, Stourport Swifts, Stratford Town, Wednesfield, West Midlands Police, Willenhall Town.

Note that Pershore Town have merged with Worcester Atletico (Endsleigh Midland Combination champions) as Pershore Town


Promoted from Banks's Brewery West Midlands (Regional) League: Stourport Swifts


Promoted to Southern League Midland Division: Bloxwich Town

Recent Champions

1999 Rocester or Kings Norton Town
1998 Bloxwich Town
1997 Blakenall
1996 Shepshed Dynamo
1995 Paget Rangers


Dr Martens League

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 7 May 1999

Copyright © 1997,1999 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.