uhlsport United Counties League

Founded: 1895

The league was formed as the Northamptonshire League and changed its name to the United Counties League in 1934 in order to be able to accept clubs from a wider area.

Founder Members

Earls Barton, Finedon Town Revellers Reserves, Higham Ferrers, Kettering Church Institute, Kettering Crusaders, Kettering Victoria, Midland Cottages (Wellingborough), Northampton Victoria, Rothwell Town Swifts, Rushden Town Reserves, Wellingborough Town Reserves.

Area Covered

The United Counties League in centered around Northamptonshire and covers areas of adjoining counties, West Cambridgeshire, South Lincolnshire, North Bedfordshire, North Buckinghamshire and North Herfordshire.


2 divisions, 38 clubs
Premier Division (20 clubs)
Division One (18 clubs)

Premier Division

Promotion: 1 club to the Dr Martens League (subject to meeting the League's entry criteria)

Relegation: 2 clubs to Division One

Composition 1998-99

Blackstone, Boston Town, Bourne Town, Buckingham Town, Cogenhoe United, Desborough Town, Eynesbury Rovers, Ford Sports Daventry, Holbeach United, Kempston Rovers, Long Buckby, Northampton Spencer, Potton United, St. Neots Town, Spalding United, Stewarts & Lloyds, Stotfold, Wellingborough Town, Wootton Blue Cross, Yaxley.


Relegated from Dr Martens League Midland Division: Buckingham Town.


Promoted to Dr Martens League Midland Division: Stamford AFC.

Name Change

Mirrlees Blackstone to Blackstone.

Recent Champions

1998 Stamford AFC
1997 Stamford AFC
1996 Raunds Town
1995 Boston Town
1994 Rothwell Town
1993 Rothwell Town
1992 Northampton Spencer
1991 Bourne Town
1990 Holbeach United
1989 Potton United

Division One

Promotion: 2 clubs to the Premier Division (subject to ground grading)

Relegation: 2 clubs to feeder leagues: Bedford & District League, Central Northants Combination, East Midlands Alliance, East Northants League, Huntingdonshire County League, Northampton Town League, Peterborough & District League.

Composition 1998-99

Blisworth, Bugbrooke St. Michaels, Burton Park Wanderers, Cottingham, Daventry Town, Harrowby United, Higham Town, Irchester United, Newport Pagnell Town, Northampton ON Chenecks, Northampton Vanaid, Olney Town, Rothwell Corinithians, St. Ives Town, Sharnbrook, Thrapston Town, Wellingborough Whitworths, Woodford United.


Promoted from Northants Combination: Woodford United.


Relegated to East Midlands Alliance: Huntingdon United.

Recent Champions

1998 Higham Town
1997 Yaxley
1996 Ford Sports
1995 St. Neots Town
1994 Northampton Vanaid
1993 Ford Sports
1992 Harrowby United
1991 Daventry Town
1990 Daventry Town
1989 Ramsey Town


Dr Martens League

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 21 Nov 1998

Copyright © 1997,1998 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.