Complete Music Hellenic League

Founded: 1953

The Hellenic League was found in 1953 with the bulk of its intial membership of 16 clubs coming from the Oxfordshire Senior League which remains a feeder league to the competition. Presumably the choice of name reflected the Olympian Amateur ideals of the new competition, and mirrored the Grecian names of the established top amateur leagues such as the Isthmian and Athenian Leagues. In the first season Princes Risborough Town recorded an unenviable 100% record by losing all 30 games of the campaign, conceding 160 goals in the process. Of the original members only Bicester Town have been able to maintain continuous membership of the league, winning the title twice. Didcot Town, the first ever champions, are also currently members of the league but had a short spell outside the league between 1957 and 1963. They have yet to add to their success in the inaugeral season. The most successful club in the league's history is Witney Town who accumulated 8 championships up until 1973 when they moved up to the Southern League. Other member clubs who've moved onto bigger things include Newport AFC and Forest Green Rovers. Newport AFC, the successors to former Football League club Newport County and now playing under that title once more, were members of the Hellenic League in their first season, 1989-90, winning the title. In 1998 Forest Green Rovers became the first former member of the Hellenic League to win promotion to the Nationwide Confernece, the top tier of the Pyramid. They played in the Hellenic League between 1975 and 1982 and as 1981-82 champions were promoted to the Southern League (now Beazer Homes League). At various times the Reserve teams of Football League clubs Luton Town, Oxford United and Swindon Town have played in the league.

Founder Members

From Oxfordshire Senior League Bicester Town, Chipping Norton Town, Didcot Town, Headington United (reserves), Newbury Town, Pressed Steel (Oxford), Princes Risborough Town, Stokenchurch, Thatcham, Wallingford Town, Witney Town
From Spartan League Abingdon Town, Amersham Town, Leighton United
From Parthenon League Staines Town
From North Buckinghamshire League Buckingham Town

Area Covered

The Hellenic League covers Oxfordshire mainly with several clubs in Gloucestershire, North Wiltshire and North Berkshire. It also includes two clubs from the Bristol area as well as one each from Hereford and Ross-on-Wye.


2 divisions, 34 clubs
Premier Division (19 clubs)
Division One (15 clubs)

The league first expanded to two divisions in 1956 with the top division of 17 clubs designated the Premier Division and a Division One of 10 clubs (including 3 reserve teams of Premier Division clubs) . In 1971 total membership reached a high of 46 clubs and Division Two was formed, with a rather unwieldly split of 17-13-14 between the three divisions. Division Two only lasted for two seasons and the league reverted to two divisions from 1973. Since then league membership has fluctuated between a low of 30 clubs in 1975-76 and the current total of 36. The league first experimented with 3 points for a win in 1974-75, but reverted back to the traditional 2 points in 1978-79 before finally settling on 3 points in 1983-84.

Premier Division

Promotion: 1 club to the Dr Martens League (subject to meeting the League's entry criteria)

Relegation: 2 clubs to Division One

Composition 1999-2000

Abingdon United, Almondsbury Town, Banbury United, Bicester Town, Brackley Town, Carterton Town, Cirencester Football Academy, Didcot Town, Fairford Town, Hallen, Harrow Hill, Highworth Town, Milton United, North Leigh, Pegasus Juniors, Shortwood United, Swindon Supermarine, Tuffley Rovers, Wantage Town.


Relegated from Dr. Marten's League: Brackley Town
Promoted from Division One: Pegasus Juniors, Milton United


Promoted to Dr. Marten's League: Burnham
Disbanded: Endsleigh
Resigned: Kintbury Rangers (joined North Berks League)

Recent Champions

1998 Burnham
1998 Swindon Supermarine
1997 Brackley Town
1996 Cirencester Town
1995 Cinderford Town
1994 Moreton Town
1993 Wollen Sports
1992 Shortwood United
1991 Milton United
1990 Newport AFC

Division One

Promotion: 2 clubs to the Premier Division (subject to ground grading)

Relegation: 2 clubs to feeder leagues: Reading League, Gloucestershire County League, North Berkshire League, Oxfordshire Senior League, Wiltshire County League.

Composition 1999-2000

Ardley United, Bishops Cleeve, Cheltenham Saracens, Cirencester United, Clanfield, Easington Sports, Headington Amateurs, Kidlington, Letcombe Sports, Middle Barton, Old Woodstock Town, Purton, Ross Town, Wootton Bassett Town, Worcester College OB.


Promoted from Oxfordshire Senior League: Middle Barton, Old Woodstock Town


Promoted to Premier Division: Pegasus Juniors, Milton United (runners-up Ardley United did not meet ground criteria)
Resigned from League: Forest Green Rovers Reserves, Watlington Town

Recent Champions

1999 Pegasus Juniors
1998 Ardley United
1997 Ardley United
1996 Purton
1995 Endsleigh
1994 Carterton Town
1993 Tuffley Rovers
1992 Wollen Sports
1991 Cinderford Town
1990 Carterton Town


Dr Martens League

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 2 May 2001

Copyright © 1997,2001 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.