Jewson Eastern Counties League

Founded: 1935

Founder Members

Bury Town, Chelmsford, Clacton Town, Colchester Town, Crittal Athletic, Gorleston, Great Yarmouth Town, Harwich & Parkeston, Ipswich Town, King's Lynn, Lowestoft Town and Thetford Town. Great Yarmouth Town and Lowestoft Town have been in continuous membership of the league since it started

Area Covered

The Eastern Counties League covers Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex and the Eastern part of Cambridgeshire.


2 divisions, 40 clubs
Premier Division (22 clubs)
Division One (18 clubs).

The league operated with a single division until 1988 when the existing division became the Premier Division and a new Division One was added.

Premier Division

Promotion: 1 club to the Dr Martens League (subject to meeting the League's entry criteria)

Relegation: 2 clubs to Division One

Composition 1999-2000

Bury Town, Clacton Town, Diss Town, Fakenham Town, Felixstowe Port & Town, Gorleston, Great Yarmouth Town, Halstead Town, Harwich & Parkeston, Histon, Ipswich Wanderers, Lowestoft Town, Maldon Town, Mildenhall Town, Newmarket Town, Soham Town Rangers, Stowmarket Town, AFC Sudbury, Warboys Town, Watton United, Woodbridge Town, Wroxham.


Promoted from Division One: Clacton Town, Mildenhall Town


Relegated to Division One: Ely City


Sudbury Town and Sudbury Wanderers merged to form AFC Sudbury

Recent Champions

1999 Wroxham
1998 Wroxham
1997 Wroxham
1996 Halstead Town
1995 Halstead Town
1994 Wroxham
1993 Wroxham
1992 Wroxham
1991 Wisbech Town
1990 Sudbury Town Reserves

Division One

Promotion: 2 clubs to the Premier Division (subject to ground grading)

Relegation: 2 clubs to feeder leagues: Cambridgeshire League, Anglian Combination, Suffolk & Ipswich League, Essex & Suffolk Border League.

Composition 1999-2000

Brightlingsea United, Cambridge City Reserves, Chatteris Town, Cornard United, Dereham Town, Downham Town, Ely City, Hadleigh United, Haverhill Rovers, March Town United, Needham Market Town, Norwich United, Somersham Town, Stanway Rovers, Swaffham Town, Thetford Town, Tiptree United, Whitton United.


Relegated from Premier Division: Ely City
Not Known: Cambridge City Reserves


Promoted to Premier Division: Clacton Town, Mildenhall Town

Recent Champions

1999 Clacton Town
1998 Ipswich Wanderers
1997 Ely City
1996 Gorleston
1995 Clacton Town
1994 Hadleigh United
1993 Sudbury Wanderers
1992 Diss Town
1991 Norwich United
1990 Cornard United


Dr Martens League

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 20 Apr 2000

Copyright © 1997,2000 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.