FA Challenge Cup 1997-98 sponsored by Littlewoods


The structure of the FA Cup allows for some clubs to be exempt from the earlier rounds of the competition. The previous season's FA Challenge Trophy finalists and the two semi-professional clubs with the best records in recent competitions are exempt until the First Round of the competition proper. The 20 semi-professional clubs with the next best records are exempt until the last (4th) Qualifying Round. The 92 Premiership and Nationwide League clubs are automatically exempt to the competition proper. The Division Two and Three clubs participate from the First Round whilst the Premiership and Division One clubs do not enter the competition until the Third Round.

20 Clubs exempt to the 4th Qualifying Round

Altrincham, Ashford Town, Boreham Wood, Boston United, Colwyn Bay, Enfield, Farnborough Town, Hayes, Hendon, Hereford United, Kidderminster Harriers, Morecambe, Northwich Victoria, Runcorn, Rushden & Diamonds, Southport, St. Albans City, Stalybridge Celtic, Sudbury Town, Wisbech Town.

52 Clubs exempt to the First Round

Dagenham & Redbridge, Hednesford Town, Stevenage Borough, Woking, all Nationwide League Division Two and Three clubs.

44 Clubs exempt to the Third Round

All FA Carling Premiership and Nationwide League Division One clubs.

FA Cup 97-98 | Preliminary Round

FA Cup Index

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 31 Aug 1997

Copyright © 1997 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.