Scottish League Challenge Cup Finals 1990-2003

Spring Cup 1975-76

About this document

Scottish League Cup Finals 1990-2003

The League Challenge Cup was introduced in 1990 as the B&Q Centenary Cup to celebrate the League's centenary. Only clubs in the Scottish Football League are eligible to take part in it. It was abandoned in 1998 due to lack of sponsorship, but was resurrected the following year when new sponsor were found when it became the Bell's Challenge Cup. Bell's sponsorship only lasted for two season and the competition is once again simply the Scottish League Challenge Cup.

2002-03   Queen Of The South       2  Brechin City             0
2001-02   Airdrieonians            2  Alloa Athletic           1
2000-01   Airdrieonians            2  Livingston               2  (after extra time, 4-3 pen)
1999-2000 Alloa Athletic           4  Inverness Caledonian Th  4  (after extra time, 5-4 pen)
1998-99   No competition
1997-98   Falkirk                  1  Queen Of The South       0
1996-97   Stranaer                 1  St. Johnstone            0
1995-96   Stenhousemuir            0  Dundee United            0  (after extra-time, 5-4 pen)
1994-95   Airdrieonians            3  Dundee                   2  (after extra-time)
1993-94   Falkirk                  3  St. Mirren               0
1992-93   Hamilton Academical      3  Morton                   2
1991-92   Hamilton Academical      1  Ayr United               0
1990-91   Dundee                   3  Ayr United               2  (after extra-time)

Final venues
Fir Park, Motherwell                 1990-91, 1991-92, 1993-94, 1997-98
McDiarmid Park, Perth                1994-95, 1995-96
Love Street, Paisley                 1992-93
Broadwood Stadium, Cumbernauld       1996-97, 2000-01, 2001-02, 2002-03
Shyberry Excelsior Stadium, Airdrie  1999-2000

Competition known as the B&Q Centenary Cup in 1990-91.
Competition known as the B&Q Cup from 1991-95.
Competition known as the League Challenge Cup from 1995-98.
Competition known as the Bell's Challenge Cup from 1999-2001.

Index | About

Summary 1990-2003 (12 Cups)

3   Airdrieonians
2   Hamilton Academical, Falkirk
1   Dundee, Stenhousemuir, Stranraer, Alloa Athletic, Queen Of The South

2   Ayr United
1   Morton, St. Mirren, Dundee, Dundee United, St. Johnstone, Queen Of The South,
    Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Livingston, Alloa Athletic, Brechin City

Final Appearances
3   Airdrieonians
2   Ayr United, Hamilton Academical, Dundee, Falkirk
1   Morton, St. Mirren, Stenhousemuir, Dundee United, Stranrer, St. Johnstone,
    Queen Of The South, Alloa Athletic, Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Livingston,
    Alloa Athletic

Index | Finals

Spring Cup 1975-76

In the first season following league reconstruction in 1975, clubs in the lower two division only met twice and thus played a total of 26 fixtures. These were completed by February and a supplemental competition, the Spring Cup, was played to make up the fixtures. A preliminary round was played in groups followed by a knock-out phase. The competition attracted little interest and lasted only one season. Thereafter clubs met 3 times per season in the league giving a total of 39 fixtures.

1976   Airdrieonians            4  Clydebank                2  (after extra-time)

Final played at Firhill Park, Glasgow.

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross for the Rec.Sport.Soccer Statistics Foundation

Last updated: 26 Apr 2003

Copyright © 1998,2003 James M. Ross and RSSSF
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.