English Fourth Division Champions 1959-2003


Summary 1959-2002

About this document

Football League Division Three Champions 1993-2003

Following the loss of the 22 Division One clubs to the newly formed FA Premier League in 1992, the remaining divisions of the Football League were renumbered and the old Fourth Division became the new Division Three.

2003  Rushden & Diamonds
2002  Plymouth Argyle
2001  Brighton & Hove Albion
2000  Swansea City
1999  Brentford
1998  Notts County
1997  Wigan Athletic
1996  Preston North End
1995  Carlisle United
1994  Shrewsbury Town
1993  Cardiff City

Index | Summary

Football League Fourth Division Champions 1959-1992

In 1958 the two regional Third Division were abolished and replaced by national Third and Fourth Divisions. The bottom twelve clubs from each regional division in Season 1957-58 formed the new Fourth Division for Season 1958-59.

1992  Burnley
1991  Darlington
1990  Exeter City
1989  Rotherham United
1988  Wolverhampton Wanderers
1987  Northampton Town
1986  Swindon Town
1985  Chesterfield
1984  York City
1983  Wimbledon
1982  Sheffield United
1981  Southend United
1980  Huddersfield Town
1979  Reading
1978  Watford
1977  Cambridge United
1976  Lincoln City
1975  Mansfield Town
1974  Peterborough United
1973  Southport
1972  Grimsby Town
1971  Notts County
1970  Chesterfield
1969  Doncaster Rovers
1968  Luton Town
1967  Stockport County
1966  Doncaster Rovers
1965  Brighton & Hove Albion
1964  Gillingham
1963  Brentford
1962  Millwall
1961  Peterborough United
1960  Walsall
1959  Port Vale

Index | Champions 1993

Summary 1959-2003 (44 championships)

2  Doncaster Rovers, Peterborough United, Chesterfield, Notts County,
   Brentford, Brighton & Hove Albion
1  Port Vale, Walsall, Millwall, Gillingham, Stockport County, Luton Town,
   Grimsby Town, Southport, Mansfield Town, Lincoln City, Cambridge United,
   Watford, Reading, Huddersfield Town, Southend United, Sheffield United,
   Wimbledon, York City, Swindon Town, Northampton Town, Wolverhampton Wanderers, 
   Rotherham United, Exeter City, Darlington, Burnley, Cardiff City, Shrewsbury Town,
   Carlisle United, Preston North End, Wigan Athletic, Swansea City, Plymouth Argyle,
   Rushden & Diamonds

Index | Champions 1959 | Champions 1993

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 3 May 2003

Copyright © 1997,2003 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.