FA Cup Facts And Trivia

League & Cup Double Winners

The Football League was formed in 1888 by 12 leading professional clubs, principally to ensure a regular schedule of top class fixtures. Preston North End won the first Championship without losing a game and completed the League and Cup double by winning the Cup without conceding a goal. In 1992 the FA Premiership was formed, replacing Division One of the Football League as the top League competition in the country.

In all the double has been achieved eight times. The full list of double winners is

Contents | Competition Structure | Results & Fixtures | The Final | Cup History | Giant Killers | Records | Trophies | Myths & Legends | Sponsorship

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross
Originally converted to HTML by Chris King

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 28 Jul 1998

Copyright © 1995,1998 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.

Any corrections or suggestions for future improvements are welcomed.