The AXA-sponsored
FA Challenge Cup 1998-99


The structure of the FA Cup allows for some clubs to be exempt from the earlier rounds of the competition. Previously exemptions were based on clubs' success in previous FA Cup competitions, from 1998-99 the system was revised and exemptions are now based on league status. Members clubs of the top semi-professional league, The Football Conference, are exempt to the 3rd Qualiying Round, member clubs of the Premier Divisions of the three leagues immediately below The Football Conference are exempt to the 2nd Qualifying Round. The 92 Premiership and Nationwide League clubs are automatically exempt to the competition proper. The Division Two and Three clubs participate from the First Round whilst the Premiership and Division One clubs do not enter the competition until the Third Round.

66 Clubs exempt to the 2nd Qualifying Round

Members of the Premier Division of the UniBond League, Dr Martens League and Ryman League.

22 Clubs exempt to the 3rd Qualifying Round

All members of The Football Conference.

48 Clubs exempt to the First Round

All members of Nationwide League Divisions Two and Three.

44 Clubs exempt to the Third Round

All members of FA Carling Premiership and Nationwide League Division One.

FA Cup 98-99 | Preliminary Round

FA Cup Index

About this document

Prepared and maintained by James M. Ross

Author: James M. Ross
Last updated: 16 Nov 1998

Copyright © 1998 James M. Ross
You are free to use the data within this document in whole or part for non-commercial use providing that proper acknowledgement is given to the author. Copying of the document itself or replication on any other web site is strictly prohibited. All rights reserved.